Types of Digital Signature in India

Digital Signature Certificates (DSC) are categorized into different classes based on the level of security provided and the verification process followed during the issuance. The most common classification is based on the validation of the identity of the entity holding the certificate. In India, the Certifying Authorities (CAs) issue digital signature certificates in accordance with the Information Technology Act, 2000. Here are the typical classes of Digital Signature Certificates:

1. Class 1 DSC:

   – Class 1 certificates are the basic level of digital signatures.

   – They are used in environments where the risk and consequences of data compromise are minimal.

   – They confirm that the information in the application provided by the subscriber does not conflict with the information in the well-recognized consumer databases.


2. Class 2 DSC:

   – Class 2 certificates are used for a higher level of security in online transactions.

   – They are typically used for filing documents with the Registrar of Companies (ROC), Income Tax Department, etc.

   – The verification process for Class 2 DSC involves verifying the identity against a pre-verified database.

3. Class 3 DSC:

   – Class 3 certificates are the highest level of digital signatures.

   – They are used in cases where a high level of security is required.

   – This class of certificates is used for e-commerce, online trading, and other sensitive online transactions.

   – The identity of the subscriber in Class 3 DSC is verified against a trusted, pre-verified database.


   – Digital Signature Certificates used for Importers and Exporters.

   – Required for filing online applications with the Directorate General of Foreign Trade (DGFT) for various purposes.

5. Document Signer Certificate:

   – This type of certificate is used specifically for signing documents rather than for individual identity verification.

   – It is used for secure document signing in various applications.


6. SSL Certificates:

   – While not exactly the same as traditional digital signature certificates, SSL certificates used for securing websites and online communication also fall under the broader category of digital certificates. They help ensure secure communication over the internet.

Each class of DSC has its own level of security and application. The higher the class, the more stringent the identity verification process. When obtaining a digital signature certificate, it’s crucial to choose the class that aligns with the security requirements of the intended use. The classification and requirements may vary across countries and regions, so it’s important to check with the relevant authorities and certification providers for the most up-to-date information.

Read more articles how to apply for a digital signature